Cubs going to the playoffs, probably against the D’Backs.  I think this team is the easiest to beat despite their record, and so I’m pretty happy.  A quick look at the playoff roster:

IN FO’ SHO’

Kendall

Lee

DeRosa

Theriot

Ramirez

Soriano

Jones

Floyd

Zambrano

Lilly

Hill

Marquis

Marmol

Howry

Demptster

Eyre

Wood

PROBABLY ON THE PLAYOFF ROSTER

Murton

Soto

Ward (is he injured?–if not, he’s “fo’ sho'”)

Wuertz

Pie

That’s 22 people.  The other three spots will most likely go to one reliever and two position players.  Who?  Well, the reliever will almost certainly be either Will Ohman, Sean Marshall, or Kevin Hart.  My vote goes to Hart, who has been fantastic so far (small sample size, I know), but I suspect the Cubs’ braintrust will not be inclined to have a rookie with 11 big league innings under his belt pitching in the playoffs.  That leaves Ohman and Marshall.  I think Marshall is far and away the better choice since he’s a) a better pitcher and b) can be used in long relief if and when some Cubs starter stinks it up.  As far as the position players, I think the spots should go to Mike Fontenot and either Craig Monroe or Sam Fuld, but I get the sick feeling that we may see Ronny Cedeño on the playoff roster since he’s the only real shortstop in the pool of available backups.  This reasoning is quite stupid, I think, but I fear it may be used.  Fuld would be a second pinch runner/defensive replacement, and Monroe would act as a pinch hitter or even a starting centerfielder against lefties.  I suspect Monroe will get the nod.

The D’Backs would certainly throw Webb in Game 1, probably followed by Doug Davis in Game 2 and Micah Owings in Game 3.  Once the rotations are set (and once it’s 100% that the Cubs will be facing the Snakes), I’ll have a series preview up.

